Haiku Journal Fire Island Day Seventeen

20120717-090041.jpg
18. I woke late and tired/
Distracted I found routines/
Of soul distraction/
#haiku

19. I avoided myself/
As I stumbled back to “life”/
I didn’t think much/
#haiku

20. Facebook & Twitter/
NPR & other tasks/
Stole meditation/
#haiku

21. Modern rituals/
Of social information/
Kill contemplation/
#haiku

22. Time spent with myself/
Challenges my “public self”/
Here is where doubt lies/
#haiku

23a. Thinking of myself/
As a soul that I control/
Shows me how I slack/
#haiku

23b. Exposing myself/
Examining my routines/
Of selfish comfort/
#haiku

25. I use rituals/
Regardless of how noble/
To limit myself/
#haiku

26. I’m alive and free/
Capable of being great/
But that’s not easy/
#haiku

27. To be truly free/
I must sacrifice comfort/
Of the familiar/
#haiku

28. The freedom I “want:”/
Described by society/
Is base privilege/
#haiku

29. The freedom I “need:”/
Spiritual transcendence/
Will cost me comfort/
#haiku

30. Participation:/
It is easy to enjoy/
Cruel advantages/
#haiku

31. Eschewing this place/
Of petty petty domination/
Challenges comfort/
#haiku

32. I worked hard within/
This unfair human system/
To enjoy my place/
#haiku

33. “Succeeding” suggests/
You must accept this system/
(That you know’s unfair)/
#haiku

34. I’m doing better/
Because I’m lucky enough/
To exist right here/
#haiku

35. Less fortunate/
Aren’t any less deserving/
Just more unlucky/
#haiku

36. I want to transcend/
This venal system of mine/
& be happier/
#haiku

37. The “revolution”/
I need to happen’s within/
Not political/
#haiku

38. I’d be happier/
If I corrected myself/
& escaped habit/
#haiku

39. I am the system/
I despise so thoroughly/
(Though it comforts me)/
#haiku

40. I’ll work to improve/
Personal behaviors &/
Metaphysically/
#haiku

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

